Weekly Current Affairs

EC to now review national, State status of political parties every 10 years [Polity]

  • In what may be a major reprieve for BSP, NCP and CPI, the Election Commission on Monday amended rules whereby it will now review the national and state party status of political parties every 10 years instead of the present five.
  • The BSP, CPI and NCP were facing the prospects of losing their national party status after their dismal performance in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.
  • The Election Commission had served them notices in 2014 on the issue.
  • A Commission notification said while criteria of being recognised as a national and state party will remain unchanged, review of status will take place every two consecutive Lok Sabha or assembly elections instead of one i.e. every 10 years.
  • Commission has amended Paragraph 6C of the Election Symbols (Reservation and Allotment) Order, 1968 to affect the change. It was last amended in 2011.
  • This change in rules will ensure that ruling parties do not lose their status due to anti-incumbency factor after every election.
  • At present, BSP, BJP, Indian National Congress, NCP, CPI and CPI(M) are the six recognised political parties. Besides, there are 64 recognised state parties in India.