Chanakya IAS Academy Blog




  • Prime Minister Narendra Modi will attend the 15th ASEAN-INDIA Summit and the 12th East Asia Summit (EAS) in Manila, Philippines.
  • The summits will be attended by Heads of State or Government of the 10 ASEAN and 18 EAS participating Countries, respectively.


  • The quadrilateral meeting was held a day before the ASEAN summit, with US , Australia and Japan- described as the “ Quadrilateral”, in the Philippines .
  • They discussed the common challenges of terrorism and proliferation linkages impacting the region.
  • In the meeting, India , US ,Japan and Australia gave a thumbs up fot a “free, open, prosperous and inclusive Indo-Pacific region”.
  • At the quadrilateral meeting, India was represented by Pranay Verma, joint secretary in charge of East Asia and Vinay Kumar , joint secretary(South).
  • The US was represented by Alice Wells and Japan sent Satoshi Suzuki, deputy minister for foreign policy for the dialogue.
  • Trump has openly renamed the Asia-Pacfic to become the new Indo-Pacific, a sign that the US would put India front and centre in its Asia strategy.


  • Modi will attend the 12th East Asia Summit and 15th India-Asean Summit in Manila.
  • This is the first Prime Ministerial visit from India to the Philippines in 36 years since the visit of Indira Gandhi in 1981.
  • PM Modi is also likely to participate in the special celebrations of the 50th anniversary of ASEAN, Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) Leaders’ Meeting and ASEAN Business and Investment Summit.
  • Modi will also visit the Philippines chapter of the Bhagwan Mahaveer Viklang Sahayata Samiti, the world’s largest organization rehabilitating disabled by providing free of cost artificial limbs, calipers and other aids.


  • The Association of South Esat Nations(ASEAN) comprises Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.
  • India and ASEAN have 30 dialogue mechanisms which meet regularly, including a summit and 7 Ministerial meetings in :-
    • Foreign Affairs
    • Commerce Tourism
    • Agricultiure
    • Environment
    • Renewable Energy
    • Telecommunications
  • At the15th ASEAN-India Summit, Mr. Modi and ASEAN Leaders will review the commemorative activities undertaken in 2017 to mark the 25 years of India’s dialogue partnership with ASEAN as well as review the broad spectrum of ASEAN as well as reviw the broad spectrum of ASEAN-INDIA cooperation in all its aspects


  • The Summit will be attended by 18 EAS countries- Australia, Brunei, Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, New Zealand and the Philippines.
  • India, being a founder member of EAS, is commited to strengthening the East Asia Summit and making it more effective for dealing with contemporary challenge.


    • The South China Sea has been at the centre of the multilateral problems at the ASEAN level further complicated by China’s land reclamation projects which are aimed at building air surveillance and domination projects in the region.
    • ASEAN has been trying to frame a Code of Conduct (CoC) for the common maritime future of the South China Sea.
    • During the meeting, The maritime issues also received an acknowledgement in the official statement.
    • The discussions also focused on cooperation based on their converging vision and values for promotion of peace, stability and prosperity in an increasingly inter-connected region that they share with each other and with other partners.


  • This quadrilateral grouping aimed to provide alternative debt financing for countries in the Indo-pacific region in which India has taken a significant turn in its policy for the subcontinent.
  • Collaboration among relevant countries could comply with the trend of times which refers to peace development and cooperation and share benefits and also confirm to the prospects of the regions and nation for common security and development.
  • If we conclude it then, by improving the mutual trust among countries, at the same time it will be safeguarding and promoting peace, tranquility, and prosperity within the area without targeting or damaging a third party interest.
Read 1175 times

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.