Chanakya IAS Academy Blog


National Rural Health Mission

    • It is for all towns and villages with a population below 50,000
    • Aims to provide Reproductive, Maternal, Newborn, Child Health and Adolescent (RMNCH+A) services
    • It includes interventions in the following areas
      • Maternal health
      • New born and Child Health
      • Adolescent health
      • Universal immunization
      • Family Planning
      • Addressing declining sex ratios
      • Addressing gender based violence
      • Access to safe abortion service, prevention and management of reproductive tract infections and sexually transmitted infections
  • Key features/initiatives under NRHM

Accredited Social Health Activists (ASHAs), Auxillary Nurse Midwives (ANMs) , Aanganwadi Workers (AWW)

  • Accredited Social Health Activists (ASHAs) are trained community health activists. They are trained to work as an interface between the community and public health system. The ASHA is to be a fountainhead of community health programmes in her village. She is to promote institutional delivery, universal immunization, sanitation, ante- natal and post-natal checkups etc.
  • Auxillary Nurse Midwives (ANMs) are like resource persons for ASHAs. They hold weekly/fortnightly meetings with ASHAs and provide them with on-job training
  • Aanganwadi Workers (AWWs) guides ASHAs in performing various activities. AWWs are also depot holders for drugs etc and issue them to ASHAs

Janani Suraksha Yojana

  • It is an intervention towards preventing maternal and neo-natal mortality by promoting institutional delivery
  • Eligible women are given cash assistance and post-delivery care.
  • Performance based incentives to ASHAs etc are also given for promoting institutional delivery

Janani Shishu Suraksha Karyakram

  • It is meant to supplement the cash entitlements given under Janani Suraksha Yojana. It aims to eliminate out of pocket expenses incurred by pregnant women and sick neonates.
  • Entitlements include free drugs and consumables, diet upto 3 days during normal delivery and upto 7 days in C-section, free diagnostics, free transport from home to institution. These ensure that deliveries are “zero-expense deliveries”.
  • Infants are also entitled to free treatment at public health institutions till 30 days of birth.

Rashtriya Bal SwasthyaKaryakram

  • It aims at early detection and management of the 4Ds prevalent in children from age 0-18 years-
    • Defects at Birth
    • Diseases in children
    • Deficiency Conditions
    • Developmental Delays including disabilities
  • Includes community based newborn screening by ASHAs (0-6 weeks) for birth defect and screening by mobile health teams (consists of 2 doctors, ANM and one pharmacist) from 6 weeks to 18 years.
  • Children diagnosed with illnesses receive treatment including tertiary level care.

Flexible Pool for control of communicable diseases

  • Was created to combine and integrate all the ongoing schemes related to communicable diseases.
  • These include National Vector Borne Diseases control programme, Revised National Tuberculosis programme, National leprosy control programme, Integrated Disease Surveillance Programme.

Flexible pool for non-communicable diseases

  • Aimed to combine and integrate all the ongoing schemes related to non-communicable diseases
  • These include National programme for prevention and control of cancer, diabetes, cardiovascular diseases and stroke, national mental health programme, National tobacco Control Programme, National programme for healthcare of the Elderly etc.
Read 1494 times Last modified on Thursday, 07 July 2016 14:55

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.